Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award Finalists

The finalists for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for best short science fiction for 2008.
The Award is presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet at the University of Kansas in Lawrence, Kansas. Here is this year's finalists in alphabetical order:

Barron, Laird "The Forest" Inferno, Dec, Tor
Bear, Elizabeth "Tideline" Asimov's, March
Chiang, Ted "The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate" F&SF, Sept
Ford, Jeffrey "The Dreaming Wind" Coyote Road, Viking Juvenile, July
Fowler, Karen Joy "Always" Asimov's, Apr/May
Johnson, Kij "The Evolution of Trickster Stories Among the Dogs Of North Park After the Change"

NOTE: Johnson, a juror, removed story from consideration.

Coyote Road, Viking Juvenile, July
Jones, Gwyneth "The Tomb Wife" F&SF, August
Kessel, John "The Last American" Foundation 100, August
McLeod, Ian R. "The Master Miller's Wife" F&SF, May
Moles, David "Finisterra" F&SF, Dec
Sinisalo, Johanna "Baby Doll" SFWA European Hall of Fame, Tor, June
Wolfe, Gene "Memorare" F&SF, April

Listeners will remember Karen Joy Fowler's "Always" that was read in episode #103

Thanks to Science Fiction Award Watch for the heads up

No comments: